The World Cup Final

The World Cup Final is a football match to determine the winner of the FIFA World Cup. The World Cup takes place every 4 years and culminates with the World Cup Final. There have been 32 World Cup finals to date.

The most recent World Cup final, hosted by Brazil in 2014, was won by Germany, who beat Argentina 1–0 after extra time.

The final has been dominated over the years by just 12 teams and there have been 8 teams that have taken home all the trophies.

With five titles, Brazil is the most successful World Cup team and also the only nation to have participated in every World Cup finals tournament. Italy and Germany have four titles. The other former champions are Uruguay and Argentina with two titles each, and England, France, and Spain with one each.

Teams from UEFA and CONMEBOL have been winners over the years. There have been no winning teams that play under AFC, CAF, CONCACAF or OFC.

The next World Cup Final will be….

the 21st final of the FIFA World Cup
held at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow, Russia, on 15 July 2018
contested by the winners of the semi-finals

The winners of the World Cup will qualify for the 2021 FIFA Confederations Cup.

The rules of the Match will be

The World Cup final match is the last of the competition, and the result determines which country is declared world champions. If after 90 minutes of regular play the score is a draw, an additional 30-minute period of play, called extra time, is added. If such a game is still tied after extra time it is decided by kicks from the penalty shoot-out. The team winning the penalty shoot-out are then declared champions.